View Thread

Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Nuclear Energy
JohnH
I worked as an engineer for 35 years. I worked with people who had been involved in the design of nuclear power plants. I also made mistakes.

Because nuclear energy does not produce CO2 emissions some are promoting it as a potential answer to excess CO2 in the environment.

I do not know if it was the earthquake or the tsunami in Japan that damaged the nuclear plants there. What I know was that an event that was not anticipated occurred. Engineers like to believe that have the information to anticipate the events that may damage the devices they design. They cannot always do that.

The problem I have always had with nuclear power is that with other power sources a significant failure can kill hundreds with nuclear hundreds of thousands can be a possibility.

Consider the horrific explosion in San Bruno, the town I grew up in, in fact my first girlfriend lived close to where the explosion occurred. As near as I can tell from an internet search only 7 people died, although others were horribly injured.

I will not suggest that nuclear power must be removed from the discussion. I will suggest that it be approached with extreme caution. I think the events in Japan point that out.

catman
The nuclear power stations in the earthquake-y part of CA make me nervous as hell.
"If I owned both Hell and Texas, I'd live in Hell and rent out Texas." - General Sheridan

seeker
While perhaps less dramatic the cost in human lives of our dependence on fossil fuels far outweighs that of nuclear power. Carbon emissions kill far more per year than die from the use of nuclear power.

I'm not necessarily saying nuclear power is the best answer but at least when it operates normally it isn't polluting.
"Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it." - George Santayana

JohnH