View Thread

Atheists Today » Taking it easy » YouTube
Who is here? 1 guest(s)
 Print Thread
Vibrations
Hypatia
A cool video showing vibrations in slow motion.

I like the cymbals and the dog shaking his head.

This video was made by the Fluke Corporation. http://www.fluke....vibrations

Photon
Very cool! The cymbals were much more "fluid" than I expected.

catman
I did an experiment with cymbals about 40 years ago. I had a three-speed reel-to-reel tape recorder with which I recorded the sound of several different cymbals at the highest speed, then played them back at the lowest speed (one-fourth of the original recorded speed, or two octaves lower). The really good cymbals had a beautiful series of distinct pitches in their sound (nearly a whole-tone scale), while the inferior ones didn't. Also, the sound of drumsticks clicking together sounded like a pair of huge logs colliding! And taking the sound of high-pitched instruments down two octaves was very interesting. It was great fun.
Edited by catman on 06/27/2011 14:50
"If I owned both Hell and Texas, I'd live in Hell and rent out Texas." - General Sheridan

Bob of QF
catman wrote:
I did an experiment with cymbals about 40 years ago. I had a three-speed reel-to-reel tape recorder with which I recorded the sound of several different cymbals at the highest speed, then played them back at the lowest speed (one-fourth of the original recorded speed, or two octaves lower). The really good cymbals had a beautiful series of distinct pitches in their sound (nearly a whole-tone scale), while the inferior ones didn't. Also, the sound of drumsticks clicking together sounded like a pair of huge logs colliding! And taking the sound of high-pitched instruments down two octaves was very interesting. It was great fun.

I was lucky enough to have one of those myself-- a multi-track one. If you used all 4 heads, it would do 4 tracks, one-way on a 1/4" tape. If you used 2 and 2? You could do stereo each way of the tape.